None the makings of an artist

July 23, 2010 at 11:56 am | Posted in Sarcasm | 16 Comments

Mental block, yes, that’s what this is, my current inability to put my thoughts in paper, to put some sense into my daily train of thought. Not writer’s block, mind you, for I have none of the makings of a true writer. It always feels comforting to have a name for everything we experience and sense. Or, maybe, I’m simply running out of topics to talk about.

As long as you’re passionate about it, go follow your dream. Mom says. You’re more likely to succeed in something you deeply love. Yeah, says the one who studied chemistry, for reasons that it’s practical and that it was what they would have wanted for her, and ended up being a secretary here. People tend to have romanticized ideas about careers in the liberal arts, forgetting what matters most, more than ambition, motivation, and passion, the gift. Let’s get realistic here, Paulo Coelho, and don’t go giving such big hopes for a lot of young hopefuls, only to later let their hearts be broken by the jungle-like industry.

Epitomization of beauty

I just don’t have the makings of an artiste. The eccentricities that come along with it, compared to them artists I seem commonplace. The artist’s easy access to the workings of the human heart and mind. Her effortless command over the language. His innate capability to easily go into the inner depths of the soul, the ability to epitomize both beauty and ugliness. Her eye for intricate detail. His eye for seemingly flowing words. The ability to shock, disturb, discomfort. The ability to pull its audience’s heartstrings. And not to mention all the effort and work and their willingness to devote their whole lives to their work. I just admire this but I have none of that.

And once a bunch of ambitious teens start studying in the fields of liberal arts, most, especially the ones who thought it was all going to be a piece of cake, seem to lose all interest once they see how complex the creating process is, how troublesome the whole researching process is and how competitive it is out there, not to mention all the sucking up you would have to do.ย  What a great way to burst people’s bubbles, show them a dose of reality, what they’re up against. They seem to be oblivious that (although Youtube has given us easy access to great films from across the world and from older periods, conquering space and time) this Youtube culture has ruined art or anything that might resemble it for the next generations. They seem to forget that most so-called great artists have only gained a real audience or obtained critical acclaim, glory, etc. after their untimely deaths or any other event before that which might seem news-worthy or controversial.

Of course, since it’s a dirty business out there, if you don’t have the gift, you could always choose to be a sell-out. That’s not hard. Use excessive sentimentality and be like Nicholas Sparks and Stephenie Meyer to appeal to the pop culture-influenced idiots among the masses. Never get outside their comfort zones, or you’ll lose your audience. Never use big words; they seem to have an irrational fear for complicated words. Market yourself as a brand, your book as a mere household product, because that’s what capitalism is for. Just do that, and, ta-da, your book has just been this week’s bestseller. What seems to matter most anyways is whether your work will be of any profit to them bigshots who make the calls. Your whole career depends on a bunch of wealthy people in the business field who know nothing whatsoever about art. Of course, your name wouldn’t be written among the names of people who have vastly contributed to history and mankind including great artists, filmmakers, novelists, etc. and the name will soon be forgotten once the passing fad is over but you’ve just influenced the next generations. Because of you, now they’re a bunch of illiterate, counterrevolutionary, and naive blubbering idiots. Gosh, thanks.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I plan on doing some audio posts in the future. It’s just that sometimes when I get home, I feel like a zombie. I don’t feel like my brain’s functioning and that the only time when I can really write something worthwhile is when I am at work. And I can’t write there.

    I still agree with your Mom though. I mean, I don’t really think I will ever do what I love for a living, but I will always find time to do them. Writing. Playing. Men. :p

    What YouTube culture? We don’t feel that here in this country where our internet connection is slow as hell. Well, at least I don’t.

    • Not only do I have to be in the mood to write, but I also need to find spare time to blog since when I’m not busy, I am either watching films or doing something else. Not to mention that my vacation’s pretty uneventful.
      What do you do with men? ๐Ÿ˜›
      Uh, from the amateur videos I glimpse (not watch) from a bunch of locals in the Philippines, I can tell that the Youtube culture is also prevalent in the Philippines, as well as most parts in the world where Internet is widely used. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Oh, and I just decided to stop boycotting your blog because you found a boyfriend first. You nasty little vermin, you. Hanapan mo nga ako. Hahaha.

    • Haha, the relationship’s long distance and online so it is really not the same as him being there personally and all ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so you don’t need to feel envious :P.

  3. hey chris!

    thing is, paulo coelho, etc. are just being overly emotional. hahaha.

    it’s a battle between idealism and realism, and no matter how seem grudgingly the rotten system works, sometimes dreaming is the only way to revolutionize it. dreaming and making it happen.

    PS i don’t get why people in general, esp when ex-PGMA made a vow to employ a million 1M OFWs a year, take undergraduate courses that seem to hamper what they’re really rooting for, like passion, identity and the arts. ugh, life sucks.

    • I don’t like excessive sentimentalism, only when it’s for humorous purposes hehehe. Maybe, that’s why I never got to finishing The Alchemist and reading his other books.
      I guess I am not a dreamer anymore. I’ve become cynical and pessimistic about a whole lot of things. I don’t see the future as quite ideal but I still do have high life expectations.

  4. Ewan ko kung off topic itong sasabihin ko. Parang katulad din yan ng lagi kong sinasabi na hindi ako blogger. Ayaw kong sabihan akong blogger o ma-brand-an na blogger. Nagkukwento lang namn ako ng mga kabugukan ko sa buhay. Hindi ako aware sa society, politics, movies, etc. Hindi ako matalino, wala akong idea ng idealism.

    Konek ko ba sa post mo? Hindi? Okay lang naman di ba? Sanay ka na sa off topic kong koment. Hahaha.

    • Pwede na rin ikonek. Haha.
      Sure, why not, even though I’m more or less talking about professional writing, not merely blogging :P.
      But what you’re doing is still considered as blogging, and you’re still a blogger whatever the heck you talk about even if it’s purely nonsensical stuff.
      But I don’t know what to call people who just post stuff, pictures, quotes and articles that are completely someone else’s and not their own work. Eek, screw them Tumblr people.
      Most of the stuff I rant about are pretty general, and I rarely get to real examples so I have my own faults as a writer.

      • Chris, one word: Tagalog.

        baka magnosebleed si salbe, lagot ka. katatapilok pa man din niyan sa gitna ng makati av habang siya e nasasandwich sa dalawang kalalakihan. hahahaa!

        peace, salbe.

  5. Paulo Coelho may really sound preachy and idealistic most of the time, but some of his books have also showed how scary it is out in the real world, and how greedy and selfish and envious people could get just as in The Devil and Miss Prym and The Witch of Portobello (both were good, for me). But I’ll admit it, I really liked The Alchemist, that I would always remind myself one of the things I’ve learned from the book- be friends with your fears and anxieties; it is the only way you could control them. Well those were not the exact words, but I think it worked for me.

    Anyway, how many times should I tell you that I admire the way you write. Sabagay, kung sa akin lang manggagaling, parang wala naman bearing sa’yo. Hehe

    • You can tell I am not a fan of Paulo Coelho, so… ๐Ÿ˜›
      Now that I think about it, Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore is beginning to seem a bit sentimental and dreamy but I still want to see how everything ends.
      You’re prejudiced, that’s why. Yup, I need a professional opinion, haha. But, hey, I don’t have any illusions of my own writing style so I am not going to kid myself.

      • eh paano kung si Paulo Coelho ang nagcomment at nagsabing magaling ka daw sumulat?

      • I said a professional opinion, not advice from a phony. XD Hahaha.

  6. hmmm…if what you wrote isn’t worth anything, i don’t know what is.

    I think at some point, you would have to admit that you have the ability to write, and you have something to say…two very important things a writer should possess.

    if by big words you meant the high-fallutin’ ones, then i would have to disagree. When I was in college, our teachers would tell us not to use those hard-to-understand words which would make your readers reread the whole thing until they get what you want to say. I guess some people just like writing stuff on the pretense that doing so would make them sound more intelligent. But if you really want to say something and you want to put this across so your readers could grasp your ideas easily, I don’t see why using simple words should be wrong…after all, the objective is to be able to communicate, right?

    anyway, i haven’t read a single nicholas sparks book, nor watched any of the films based on his books because, well, i guess i just know what to expect. haha!

    and contrary to your belief, you ARE an artist. and you know how to appreciate Art. if only for that, you can already be called one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yehey, you’re not a Nicholas Sparks fan. I love my romantic films but his works seem to be too over-the-top and too cliched; I hate how most people seem to be into this shit he makes. If he wasn’t marketed the way he is among readers, I would classify his novels as pure trash.
      But, wait, even my inability to describe how much I LOATHE Nicholas Sparks shows my limitations as a writer. It’s not only the vocabulary but my ability of expressing myself. I want to say more but I just can’t seem to put it into words.

  7. I love this post! You’re absolutely right about Stephenie Meyer and Nicholas Sparks being glittery trash being marketed for money. I hate those authors.
    It sucks, though, that I want to write well but I don’t think I have the talent. Most of my friends say otherwise, but I really don’t see myself having a good command over words and emotions.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

