Soy espiritual.

April 21, 2010 at 6:24 pm | Posted in Melancholia | 15 Comments

I’m still alive. Don’t think you’ll be able to get rid of me that easily. It’s just that I’ve been busy during my final week of school. I still have one more exam left but that’s not until Friday. And after today’s Statistics exam, I have finally accepted that I’m not good at math. Wait, that’s an understatement. I suck at math. Or, I could just easily blame it on the online course and how the professor chose the most obscure questions, resulting to my confusion and dumbfoundment, but I would be kidding myself.

Anyway, I didn’t come back here just to talk about school. Last week, I believe, I was on my way home in the subway train sitting, feeling pretty, and reading Mysterious Skin (I just finished it and the ending is as devastating as it is in the film adaptation) when I overheard a brief conversation between two people of Spanish descent which was abruptly cut short since the other had to get off at the next subway station. And apparently, they were strangers to each other as they just exchanged names before the other left.

I will be, of course, paraphrasing here as my memory’s not that good anymore, kids. Here’s what I remembered from the conversation:

“No soy religioso. Soy espiritual.” (I don’t speak Spanish but I don’t think you need to just to know what this means)
“The way I see it, religions just set a lot of barriers and restraints. And that’s where the problems come in.”
“Being spiritual, I have more freedom. The sky’s the limit. I can soar like a bird.”
“Like a phoenix.”

Yes, the soaring-like-a-bird is such a cliche. That’s the exact figurative speech that they used but I couldn’t agree more. I couldn’t have said it any better towards another person, only I am neither religious nor spiritual.

Hey, I am the last person whom you should accuse of being against religious practices and traditions. My dogma is, as long as what you do doesn’t involve inflicting long-lasting physical/mental/emotional pain on others or any form of repression, I’m all for it. But I can’t help but think that most people join organized religions out of tradition and routine. Religions give some reassurance and order to their lives, that, no matter what changes in their lives, this will always remain constant. There is no ambiguities in religions. What it says in the scriptures, that’s the way it’s going to be. Organized religions have a firm standing on what they believe in, sometimes to the point of stubbornness. People like the idea of order when the truth is, there is no such thing. Let’s just try to seek inner peace, rather than try to maintain order in our lives.

Just being spiritual without belonging to any religious organization or without labelling yourself, the way I see it, is more ambiguous and indefinite, the way it should be. Just the way life is: uncertain and enigmatic. Instead of saying “I don’t eat this because my religion says so” or “I don’t do that because my religion says it’s sodomy”, you say something along the lines of “I don’t eat meat because I reject to eat something that’s been a living thing before” or “I don’t do this because it doesn’t tune in with my own personal beliefs.”

Although I’m the kind of person who is quite logical and believes only in the existence of something once I see it with my own eyes, I’d like to believe that there is some other world out there, that there’s an afterlife. Maybe out there, there really is a Supreme Being, I don’t know, we don’t know. I believe the Supreme Being is more forgiving, more accepting, and less judgmental of people. With something that is ambiguous and that has no real and tangible evidence, perhaps having a firm and unyielding viewpoint on religion, afterlife, and the origin of life is not necessary. And I would like to believe that, not having to tie myself on any specific religion.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Would you also label atheism as something vague and indefinite?

    The afterlife is very elusive. I would like to believe in reincarnation, but then as you said, having no tangible evidences about these beliefs will make you think otherwise.

    • You an atheist? Having a stance on whether God exists or not is, I guess, definite but any kind of doubt and skepticism is vague and indefinite :D.
      Me, I have recently identified myself as an agnostic. There is a certain ambiguity in it since it does have various meanings to people.
      I mean, after all, all of us are definitely uncertain what’s beyond life.

      • nah, i’m not an atheist haha. but i’m gearing towards being agnostic… how could we ever possibly validate if there is indeed an afterlife..

        and oh, you don’t pray anymore? even if you have, say, a big exam coming up? =)

      • So sad how we’ll only be able to find the absolute truth about life once we’re dead. Can’t wait, hahahaha.
        Sometimes I find myself praying before eating when I’m with my family. I try to get out of the habit. It seems hypocritical to pray when I have decided that Christianity, along with religions a whole, isn’t for me.
        No, not even for exams. It’s not that I don’t need all the luck and help I can get. It’s just that I don’t have faith anymore.

  2. never fear.it was the reason why man invented ‘gods’.

    i dont put stock on religion either.and if ever god exist.in his infinite wisdom,perhaps,he would understand why some of us just live by the golden rule.

    just bloghopping.getting to know what the others are writing.have a nice day!

    • Thanks for dropping by.
      I’d like to believe God is more understanding and more compassionate than what religions perceive God to be.
      I’ll try to go through some of your blog entries as well once I get the chance. πŸ˜€

  3. this is a very interesting topic Chris!

    believe it or not, I WAS a born-again Christian. I am what they consider to be a ‘backslider’ when I stopped going to Sunday school during my parent’s ‘falling off’ era. I mean, I was 6 or 7 yrs old then – what am I supposed to do?! Go to church by myself?! Looking back, I felt terrible about the whole congregation. About being a born-again Christian. I felt vindicated.

    For me, as long as you know that there is a supreme being, a higher power. As long as you take time at least once or twice a day to pray to whoever you think is God, you don’t need to be in a religion.

    • Do you mean Sunday school or Sunday church? XD
      I see, I see. Me, I’m forced to go to Church, even though I have bluntly expressed my beliefs and thoughts about it to them. “Hangga’t andito ka sa pamamahay namin, kami pa rin ang masusunod, ok?” Yeah… O_O
      The thing is, I don’t pray anymore either. I apologize if I offend but I find no point to it anymore. Maybe, praying is not for me, not the way I should express myself to the Supreme Being or whatever there is beyond life.

  4. See, you were busy too. Now stop blaming me for playing online games. Seriously though, my being busy has nothing to do with playing. I had a lot of things to deal with, but they were all taken care of. What better way can I solve them than by ignoring them? Haha.

    You do know that I am good at Math, right? Paturo ka saken. Daliiii. hehe.

    Religion in the Philippines is not, well, diverse enough. 1. Catholic, 2. Others. This is potentially offensive, but I know how stupid people can get when it comes to religion. They keep on defending what they believe in when they themselves are not sure if what they have been told were true. They just assumed they were. Just like what a typical stupid person does. I am a hater.

    • I’m guessing they’re personal problems. If it is, I hope everything goes well. If it’s about work, then you can easily handle it then. πŸ˜‰
      Naku, you’re too late haha. I just got a D for Statistics. Not good but I guess if I didn’t do it online, I would have at least gotten a B.
      Not much room for just spirituality, and not organized religion, in the mainstream Philippine community. You’re forgetting to include our Muslim community. And I’m pretty sure others are into other more spiritual beliefs but they’re relatively small in number and not mostly in the cities. πŸ˜€
      You’re too angry towards Christians, aren’t you? Haha.

  5. You don’t have a new post. :c

    I try to refrain from commenting on entries that contain anything remotely religious. It just feels…overwrought to me. Overdone, the whole topic. That is not saying you don’t have anything new to say or that I didn’t enjoy your entry, as per usual. Rather, it is on my end. I feel like I have said everything I need to say about religion. Hehe.

    There.

    Anyway, I hope you’ll be back soon. I hope you’re done with the school stuff. πŸ™‚

    • It’s ok, it’s ok. But don’t think you’ll be able to evade the issue/topic all your life. πŸ˜›
      What are your thoughts about religion? I have noticed how you’ve been evading talking about political/religious stuff in your blog. Or maybe that’s just me.
      Oh, yes, I’m done. But now the job-seeking starts. I’m done and unfortunately I don’t think I’m ready for what people call the “real world”. As if high school and college aren’t that tough, a slice of what life is. Yeah, right. But lately I’ve been unsure about the career I’ve chosen. Hopefully, it’s not too late.

      • I wish I could! I am Catholic by birth and I am still a practicing Catholic until now. My boy and I, we go to church once in a while.

        It’s not that politics or religion does not interest me. Mostly, I get too worked up when writing about them or even thinking about topics like them. :p Personally, I believe in God, a more forgiving, a less vindictive God.

        Why do you feel that you’re not ready? πŸ™‚ I bet you’ll find the experience exhilarating. I am excited to read about your foray into the “real world.” :p

      • Oh I see. Then, all the best for you then for sticking to your faith. No sarcasm there, if that’s what you think.
        You do know I don’t mean any disrespect towards the Christian faith, don’t you? It’s just me expressing what I feel. You wouldn’t blame me for being so unsure about such things.
        Eh, just the way you don’t like talking about political stuff, I don’t like talking about this “real world” shite :P.

  6. Quite oddly, I do find myself warming toward agnosticism as I get older. Hmm.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

