If this is what it means to be free, then I’d rather not be.

March 29, 2010 at 11:44 am | Posted in Sarcasm | 5 Comments

Go to work, send your kids to school, follow fashion, act normal, walk on the pavements, watch TV, save for your old age, obey the law. Repeat after me: I am free.

I must be useful to society. Or else, I’ll be immediately labeled a bum, an anti-social person. There is no other way of going through life other than finishing university, raising a family and contributing to society 24/7. Money is thought to be essential. Wealth and power give me the respect I deserve. That’s the civilized way! There is no other way. Anything else will be primitive, savage. Repeat after me: I am free.

Questioning the way society works and the meaning of life is not acceptable. If I do, people will think I’m strange and will narrow-mindedly call me a commie, a weirdo, a psychopath. As if there is such a thing as normal. They don’t like threats to the secure and wealthy lives they have. I am not supposed to bluntly say what I really think. Acting the way they expect you to and telling them fake compliments and lies are the only ways to get you the job. School has trained me to act the way they want me to. More like a brainwash than teaching. Repeat after me: I am free.

No use looking beyond the pretty surface, beyond the lovely exterior. I own a pretty house. I have friendly neighbors whom I never get to personally know and talk to aside the occasional small talk and greetings. “Yes, smile back, you asshole. I bet I make more money than you do.” No use looking beyond the fake surface. I’m afraid I’ll be able to see something unpleasant. I’d like to think that I’m happy based on all the things I have and all that I have been able to achieve. I am happy… Right? Repeat after me: I am free.

I have a decent job. I get by pretty well even though I spend more of my time at work than at home doing what I really want to do. It’s ok in the long run as they reassure me with their retirement benefits and other perks. Yes, even though I don’t get enough sleep and I spend 2/3 of my time helping my superiors earn more money than they’re supposed to, spending them on material things that they don’t really need and that won’t be able to fill the void in their empty lives. Climbing the corporate ladder is what’s important, not family, not friends, not the environment, and not the ones i need. It’s all about me. Repeat after me: I am free.

I must keep up with the latest news, the latest trends. Or else, they might think I’m living under a cave. Screw my personal choices and preferences. I’ll let others think for myself. Let the media, the ones in power, do it for me as they seem to know better. They know what’s best for me. I mean, they know us so much in a personal level that they create caricatures and reinforce stereotypes based on little that they know. According to the media, I am a flamboyant, dumb, perverted, and promiscuous fashion slave who lives in my parents’s basement, can’t speak using an intelligible accent and is either a nurse, a caregiver or a servant. Repeat after me: I am free.

As soon as I am born, I am expected to follow certain roles based on what I am. Blue for male, pink for female. If I am a male, I am expected to be tough, active and aggressive. Don’t cry; only girls cry. If I am a female, I am apparently the weaker sex. I am expected to be domestic, passive and submissive. Don’t be too aggressive; it’s not the womanly thing to do. Act a certain way. If not, I am a faggot, a dyke, a bitch, a commie. Alternative choices and lifestyles are unacceptable. Heterosexuality, democracy and capitalism are supposedly the norms in society. Anything else is a threat and must be extinguished without question. Repeat after me: I am free.

I have no mind of my own. I never question or doubt anything that’s been laid out in front of me. I am practically braindead. I conform to society’s expectations of me. I am defined by what I own and what I have done, not by who I am and what I think and believe. Daily routine gives me reassurance and security. It gives me a sense of control in my life. Delusions. Clothes, brands, and cars satisfy my hunger for more in this life. I am a consumer, a customer, not a person. Any kind of progress is better than nothing. Repeat after me: I am free.

If this is what it means to be free, then I’d rather not be.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Fuck. And while I was reading every paragraph I was thinking that you were out of your mind. Seriously. You got me there. Clearly, sarcasm doesn’t travel well over the internet.

    I love questioning how the society works because people who follow whatever is common and do not question them even if that is against their principles are idiots. And I refuse to be one of them.

    • You know me better than that ;). I guess the sarcasm didn’t go across as obviously as I wanted to and thought it would.

      That’s why I put the “Repeat after me: I am free” in Italics and kept repeating it all over and over again, to show my point. When I refer to “I” in this post, I refer to us humans in general, not specifically myself.

      I think I ought to change the title so it would be more obvious.

  2. …and you’re back! And in full fighting form, too! 😉

    Seriously though, I understand where you’re coming from. Should we act contrary to what society expects of us, we would be ostracized, castigated, ridiculed. But if we are brave enough to face up to it, then doesn’t it set us free? We can always choose not to do what is thought to be “good” for us and for the society and as long as we are ready to accept the consequences of our actions, then we’re free, right?

    We can always rail against the system, but really, we CAN choose to step outside it. We are given the power to choose. Sometimes, we are just to afraid to use it.

    • Was I gone in the first place? XD Or did you just miss my posts too much? Haha, conceited much? Just kidding, yo.
      Well said, well said :D. I couldn’t have said it any better.
      But I want to get rid of or destroy the system all in all. 😛 It enslaves and oppresses, don’t you think? And I don’t like the idea of us just being robots and pawns to society.
      Maybe that’s why I find films with couples-on-the-run from the law and revolutionaries romantic as they try to show that they’re beyond the system and that they can escape from it all and start on their own. But unfortunately most of the time, it always ends in tragedy.

  3. It’s true, being free has it’s twin obligations. And I guess some are also for our welfare. Or maybe I am yet to find that out when I become free.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

