Mr. Pink’s thoughts on tipping

March 23, 2010 at 6:30 pm | Posted in Angst | 3 Comments

“I don’t tip because society says I have to. All right, if someone deserves a tip, if they really put forth an effort, I’ll give them something a little something extra. But this tipping automatically, it’s for the birds. As far as I’m concerned, they’re just doing their job.”
– Mr. Pink from Reservoir Dogs

You know what this is? It’s the world’s smallest violin playing just for the waitresses.

Steve Buscemi is just effing awesome, especially in Parting Glances. Of course, I had have the same opinion towards tipping, even before I watched Reservoir Dogs months ago, even before I watched Buscemi’s character Mr. Pink yak on and on so much about tipping in the opening scene. I couldn’t care less what the rest had to say about tipping; those hetero-dogs, a bunch of lowlifes not worthy of anyone’s attention, just get a kick out of passive and dumb waitresses serving and pleasing them. Pigs.

Of course, after the opening credits, the film bogged down and bored me to death with all its rehash of Quentin Tarantino’s favorite films full of machismo and testosterone. But it’s always pleasant to watch Steve Buscemi, Harvey Keitel and Tim Roth. The rest are a bunch of wannabes or has-beens.

Quentin Tarantino just doesn’t have his own sense of style. Homage, my ass. He can’t possibly be referred to as an auteur. Even my only favorite from him, the Kill Bill series, is a rip-off of even better films like Lady Snowblood and Female Scorpion #701: Scorpion. Even though he has such a badass taste in cinema, his films just feel like awful remakes of his “influences”. He’s just a fanboy on acid, really.

Anyway, why do I always get side-tracked? Back to the original topic. What do I say to the tipping of 10% of the bill? Fuck that. I know, some people, including my aunt, earn a living out of big tips. I’m sorry but I, as a person and not as a customer or another number in your books, should be able to decide whether I want to tip or not and what specific amount should I give. If your poor service and your lousy and inconsiderate attitudes deserve only 10 cents, then I shall only give you ten cents. It’s bad enough that you overcharge us in your fancy restaurants. It’s bad enough that you only put a small amount of food in a large platter. If you think you’re fooling the rest, you’re certainly not fooling me.

According to my sister, in this Korean grill restaurant downtown, the waiter apparently chased them before they left and told them that they were required to give tips of 10% of the price of their bill. What the fuck!? I didn’t know tipping was required. It should be out of the customers’ consideration. What if they weren’t pleased with the whole shebang? But maybe, the waiter just seized the opportunity since they were just a bunch of teenagers who wouldn’t be able to talk back and complain. I know, I know, the waiters’ salaries are way below the minimum wages. But even without me tipping, a lot of those bourgeoisie and upper-classes give a lot of tips, even more than 10%. Why do they do it? Because they simply can, and so they want to brag about it.

Now, waiters, if you expect me to tip a lot even if I regret spending so much on such little food, please heed my glare. I bite.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. man, reservoir dogs is one of my all-time favorite movie!

    my favorite part of the ‘Mr.Pink doesn’t tip scene’ is when Mr. Blue answered back with: ‘so what’s something extra? lickin’ your back and suckin your dick?!’ LOL.

    this movie is golden.

    p.s.
    also love the meeting/orientation in Vegas part.

    • For the record, I don’t like Reservoir Dogs. I just mentioned it just to support my points on tipping, hehe. I still find Steve Buscemi and Harvey Keitel badass though.

      I never liked Quentin Tarantino’s films. He’s a phony, if you ask me :P. My only actual favorite of his films is the Kill Bill series, and even that lacks of something else. But I have to admit, his taste in films is pretty awesome.

  2. my mom reasons just like you! but i am on the other side. ahah! i know they’re just “doing” their jobs, but when i saw the average rates for this job, man! you’ll end up pitying them. i mean, how could they possibly live from the minimum wage, alone? you gotta help them by giving some tips -that’s when mandatory 10% comes in. and yes, it’s mandatory now, it’s etiquette. but of course, if the service is errrr, then she surely won’t even get a single penny.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

